This 13 day of December 2023

AN ASSEMBLY of Principals and Electors of the Parish of St Ouen was duly held in St Ouen's Parish Hall on Wednesday 13 December 2023 at 7.00pm to:-

- 1. Receive, and if deemed advisable, approve the Act of the Parish Assembly held on 23 August 2023.
- 2. In conformity with Article 5 of the "Loi (1914) sur la Voirie" elect three principals to act as members of the Roads Committee.
- 3. In conformity with Article 5 of the "Loi (1914) sur la Voirie" elect 2 Roads Inspectors for each of the 6 Cueillettes of the Parish.
- 4. In conformity with Article 32 of the Rates (Jersey) Law, 2005, elect 1 person to act as a member of the Rates Assessment Committee.
- 5. To elect a Vingtenier for the Cueillette de Leoville.

The Connétable welcomed those present and offered apologies from Mr Andrew Malzard and Mr Nicholas Le Masurier (Roads Inspectors) and Mr Michael Paddock.

The Connétable then asked the Parish Secretary to read the convening notice.

The minutes of the meeting held on 23 August 2023 were on the seats and as there were no comments or questions, the Connétable asked for a proposer and seconder that the minutes were approved. Mr Basil Carré proposed and Mr David Sharp (Rate Assessor) seconded that the minutes be approved and this was unanimously agreed.

Item 2 on the agenda was to elect three principals to act as members of the Roads Committee. The Connétable asked for nominations and Mr Basil Carré proposed that Mr John Philip A'Court who had served the Parish for over 30 years be re-elected. The was seconded by Advocate Richard Michel.

Mr Basil Carré proposed that Advocate Richard John Michel who had served on the Roads Committee for over 12 years, be re-elected. This was seconded by Mr John A'Court.

Mr Basil Carré proposed that Mr Martin Norman Le Maistre be elected to serve the Roads Committee. This was seconded by Advocate Richard Michel.

As there were no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr John A'Court and Advocate Richard Michel re-elected and Mr Martin Le Maistre elected. He warned them all to appear before the Royal Court on a date and time to be advised in order to take the Oath of Office. The Connétable then thanked them for their service to the Parish and welcomed Mr Le Maistre to the Committee.

The Connétable took the opportunity to thank Mr James Gordon Reed, a previous member of the Roads Committee, for all his years' service to the Parish and wished him well in the future.

Item 3 on the agenda was to elect two Roads Inspectors for each of the six Cueillettes.

The Connétable asked for nominations for Petite Cueillette.

Mr Graham Charles Pallot was proposed by Mr Basil Carré and seconded by Mr Paul James, Mr Douglas John Hamilton was proposed by Mr Paul James and seconded by Mr Graham Pallot. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Graham Pallot and Mr John Hamilton

duly re-elected and warned them for their appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be advised to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable asked for nominations for Grande Cueillette.

Advocate Richard John Renouf proposed Mr Nigel Roy Vautier and Mr Stephen John Vautier and both these nominations were seconded by Mr Paul James. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Nigel Vautier and Mr Stephen Vautier duly re-elected and warned them for their appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be advised to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable asked for nominations for Cueillette de Grantez.

Mr Douglas Andrew Richardson was proposed by Mr Paul James and seconded by Mr John Gary Vibert. Mr Paul James was proposed by Mr Douglas Richardson and also seconded by Mr John Gary Vibert. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Douglas Richardson and Mr Paul James duly re-elected and warned them for their appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be advised to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable asked for nominations for Cueillette de Millais.

Mr Ashley Mark Le Sech was proposed by Mr John A'Court and seconded by Advocate Richard Michel. Mr Peter Miles Mossop was proposed by Mr Ashley Le Sech and seconded by Advocate Richard Michel. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Ashley Le Sech re-elected and Mr Mossop elected and warned them for their appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be advised to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable asked for nominations for Cueillette de Vinchelez.

Mr Thomas Charles Le Maistre proposed Mr Andrew Michael Malzard and Mr Nicholas John Le Masurier and both these nominations were seconded by Mr Clive Francis Murphy. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Andrew Malzard and Mr Nicholas Le Masurier duly re-elected and warned them for their appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be arranged to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable asked for nominations for Cueillette de Leoville.

Mr Paul Frank Batho and Mr Harry Paul Frank Batho were proposed by Advocate Richard Michel and both these nominations were seconded by Mr Paul James. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Paul Batho and Mr Harry Batho duly re-elected and warned them for their appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be arranged to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable thanked all the newly re-elected Roads Inspectors for allowing their names to be put forward and welcomed Mr Peter Mossop to the role. He also thanked them for all their hard work and continued support.

The next item on the agenda was to elect a member of the Rate Assessment Committee. Mr Paul James was proposed by Mr Nigel Hall and seconded by Mr David Charles Sharp. There were no other nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Paul James duly re-elected and warned him for his appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be arranged to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable thanked Mr James for his previous service to the Parish and his continued support.

The final item on the agenda was to elect a Vingtenier for the Cueillette de Leoville. Mr Thomas Charles Le Maistre was proposed by Centenier Robert Hall and seconded by Centenier Theresa Anne Surcouf. There were no further nominations, so the Connétable declared Mr Thomas Le Maistre re-elected and warned him for his appearance before the Royal Court on a date and time to be arranged to take the Oath of Office.

The Connétable congratulated Mr Le Maistre on his re-election and thanked him for agreeing to serve for another term of office, noting that he had served the Parish for 11 years in both the Honorary Police as equipment officer and on the Homes for the Elderly Allocation Committee.

Mr Allan John Quenault (Procureur du Bien Public) asked that a vote of thanks be recorded to Mr John Edward Le Masurier for his service as a Roads Inspector, following his decision not to seek reelection. The Connétable agreed and noted that Mr Le Masurier was unable to attend the meeting as he was currently out of the Island.

There being no further business, the Connétable asked for a proposer and seconder that the minutes of this meeting be approved at the next Parish Assembly. Mr Allan Quenault proposed, and Advocate Richard Michel seconded.

Before closing the meeting at 7.20pm the Connétable thanked all those present for their support during the year and wished everyone a very Happy Christmas and a healthy New Year. He then asked those present to join him for a drink before leaving.